Making the Connection

Additional Resources

Advising Structures
College and Career Exploration

Making the Connection: Aligning Advising to Improve Postsecondary Access and Success was authored by Lauren Norton and Ryan Reyna. The authors wish to extend gratitude to Emily Blatter Boyer, Monica Maldonado, and Tiffani Williams for contributing their research and expertise; to Kelly Van Beveren for her editorial and communications leadership; and to the team at Outright for their design assistance.

We also would like to offer a special thanks to members of our Expert Work Group (listed below) for sharing their insights and feedback.

This site was made possible with financial support from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Expert Work Group Members
  • Adelina Silva (Vice Chancellor of Student Success, Alamo Colleges)
  • Ajuah Helton (National Director, KIPP Through College)
  • Aleesia Johnson (Superintendent, Indianapolis Public Schools)
  • Andrea Soonachan (Dean of K-16 Initiatives, City University of New York)
  • Andy Tucker (Director of Postsecondary and Workforce Readiness, Colorado Department of Education)
  • Bill Tucker (Senior Advisor, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)
  • Blake Freeman (Executive Director of Early Postsecondary Success, Hamilton County Schools)
  • Caroline Altman-Smith (Senior Program Officer, Kresge Foundation)
  • Christian Granlund (College and Career Network Manager, Puget Sound College and Career Network)
  • Cornelia McCowan (Executive Director of College Readiness, Grand Prairie Independent School District)
  • Erin Bibo (Former Deputy Chief of College and Career Education, District of Columbia Public Schools)
  • Eve Shapiro (Chief Knowledge Officer, Beyond 12)
  • Jorge Aguilar (Superintendent, Sacramento City Unified School District)
  • Karlo Silbiger (Coordinator of College-Going Culture, Partnership for Los Angeles Schools)
  • Katie Graham (State Director of Career & Technical Education, Nebraska Department of Education)
  • Kayla Elliott (Director of Higher Education Policy, The Education Trust)
  • Melissa Connelly (CEO, OneGoal)
  • Mike Krause (Former Executive Director, Tennessee Higher Education Commission)
  • Noe Ortega (Chief, Pennsylvania Department of Education)
  • Shana Payne (Director of Higher Education, Delaware Department of Education)
  • Tim Renick (Vice President of Enrollment Management & Student Success, Georgia State University)
  • Tina Fernandez (CEO, Achieve Atlanta)
  • Troy Grant (Senior Director of College Access, Tennessee Higher Education Commission)
  • Yarbrah Peeples (Senior Regional Director-East, College Advising Corps)